Monthly Archives: April 2022

Natalie Perkins named Psychology Dissertation Scholar for 2022-23

At the 2022 Stephen Hinkle Memorial Poster Session, Natalie Perkins was named the Department of Psychology Dissertation Scholar for 2022-23. This award releases the recipient from departmental duties, allowing them to devote their full time efforts to their dissertation and related scholarly activities. Natalie is a member of Aaron Luebbe’s lab, and we congratulate her on being named Dissertation Scholar!

Psi Chi Professor and Graduate Student of the Year named

At the 2022 Stephen Hinkle Memorial Poster Session, Psi Chi announced the recipients of two of the most coveted annual honors in the psychology department. Dr. Anna Radke was named Professor of the Year in Psychology for 2021-22, and Elizabeth Sneddon-Yepez was named Graduate Student of the Year in Psychology for 2021-22. Congratulations to Anna and Elizabeth on these well-deserved recognitions!

PSY undergrads receive Fulbright honors

Congratulations go to PSY major Brandon Arnold, who was one of five Miami undergraduates selected to receive a Fulbright grant in 2022! Brandon is a member of Anna Radke’s RAD Lab, and previously he received Dean’s Scholar and Provost’s Student Academic Achievement Award recognitions. Brandon plans to continue his studies abroad in Chile with his Fulbright Award. Congratulations Brandon!

In addition, PSY major Samantha Shetterly was named as a Fulbright Scholar alternate. Samantha is a Miami alum, and she worked in Elise Clerkin’s lab. Congratulations to Samantha on being selected as a Fulbright alternate!

Heather Claypool named MPA President Elect

Congratulations go to our own Heather Claypool, who was elected by the members of the Midwestern Psychological Association to serve the organization as President Elect. Claypool has previously served on MPA Council (also an elected position) and served as Program Moderator for the MPA program in 2021. She will preside over the 2024 MPA meeting in Chicago. Congratulations Heather on this outstanding honor!

Tyler Jacobs receives CAS’s Miami Graduate Student Teaching Award

Congratulations go to Tyler Jacobs, who received the 2022 College of Arts and Science Graduate Student Teaching Award. Jacobs has served as a teaching assistant for introductory statistics (PSY 293), and he has also served as an instructor of record for introductory social psychology (PSY 221) and for the psychology of sustainability (PSY 420). Tyler also contributed (along with JJ Togans) a workshop at the 2021 Diversity Teach-In on discussing racism in the classroom. Tyler has also advised three senior thesis projects and one DUOS project with undergraduates in Allen McConnell’s PASS Lab. Congratulations to Tyler for this well-deserved honor!

Matt McMurray receives CFR award

Congratulations go to Matt McMurray, who received a $30K award from the Miami Committee on Faculty Research and the Office of Research and Innovation to support his research during the summer of 2022. The award will provide summer support and materials and supplies to continue his work on-going drug addiction research, and the proposal received very positive comments during its review process. Congrats Matt!

Allen McConnell receives Prodesse Quam Conspici award

Congratulations go to Allen McConnell, who received the Miami University President’s Prodesse Quam Conspici Award, recognizing his service and leadership as a department chair during the COVID-19 pandemic. Prodesse Quam Conspici awards (based on Miami’s motto) may be bestowed on university community members once during their careers to recognize selfless acts of leadership that advance the greater good of the university.

Climate Justice talk on Thursday, April 21

The 2022 Drs. Gene & Carol Willeke Frontiers in Environmental Science Distinguished Lecture will be presented this year by Dr. Mustafa Santiago Ali, who will be speaking on Earth Day Eve with a talk entitled, “Climate Justice and Community Revitalization: Progress, Challenges, Moving Forward.”

Dr. Mustafa Santiago Ali is the Founder & CEO of Revitalization Strategies; Vice President of Environmental Justice, Climate, and Community Revitalization at the National Wildlife Federation; a Thought Leader and Activist for Environmental Justice. He served 24 years in the US EPA and was a founding member of the EPA Office of Environmental Justice where he served as Director of Communication and led the Communications and Stakeholder Involvement team.

The talk will be presented on zoom on Thursday, April 21, at 6 p.m. Please click here to register for this free talk.

8 PSY students received University Summer Scholarships

Congratulations goes to eight undergraduates in our department (and to their mentors) who received University Summer Scholars for the Summer of 2022. Specifically, the following students will receive USS awards to support their scholarly work this summer:

Caroline Bartoszek (Jennifer Quinn)
Henry Beckett (Jennifer Quinn)
Sidra Capriolo (Yvette Harris)
Harrison Carvour (Anna Radke)
Lucy Chappell (Jennifer Quinn)
Peyton Matik (Jay Smart)
Jon Sciortino (Matthew McMurray)
Alexia Zylko (Matthew McMurray)

Congratulations to each student-mentor combination, and good luck with your research this summer!