Tag Archives: award

Sean Monroe receives Smith Promise Award

Sean Monroe was named a recipient of the Smith Promise Award for the 2021-22 academic year. His faculty advisor is Dr. Anna Radke. The Smith Promise Award is awarded to an exceptional graduate student studying behavioral neuroscience. Sean will be formally recognized at the next Graduate Research Forum (November 2022). Congrats Sean!

PSY 294 professors receive Howe Award for Excellence

Congratulations goes to three psychology professors who will receive the 2022 Howe Award for Excellence in Disciplinary Writing Instruction. Carrie Hall, Jenn Quinn, and Jay Smart were unanimously selected by the Howe Local Advisory Board to receive the award, which will be presented to them at the University Awards Ceremony, planned for Tuesday, March, 15 2022, at 5 p.m. in the Marcum Center. The three will also share the related professional development prize money.

These colleagues participated in the Howe Faculty Writing Fellows program, working on assignments, support mechanisms, and student assessments of writing in PSY 294 (Writing and Research Methods). The Howe Award for Excellence in Disciplinary Writing Instruction recognizes this work and subsequent development that the team has provided for PSY 294 courses. Congratulations to Carrie, Jenn, and Jay!

Anna Radke receives Miami Rapid Investment Program grant

Congratulations goes to Anna Radke, who will receive a $96K grant from Miami’s Rapid Investment Program (RAPID) grant program. The RAPID grant is a new internal funding mechanism to support Miami faculty members whose research is especially viable for extramural funding. The RAPID grant will support her research on motivational brain systems that contribute to substance use disorders from March 2022 to March 2023. Congratulations to Anna for this receiving this award!

PSY receives two DUOS awards

Congratulations goes to two graduate-undergraduate research teams and their faculty advisors, who are receiving DUOS (Doctoral Undergraduate Opportunity Scholarships), supporting psychology research projects conducted between undergraduate-graduate student pairs working together under the supervision of a faculty member in a Miami doctoral department.

Dr. Anna Radke, Faculty Advisor
Sean Monroe, Graduate Student Mentor
Cambria Beane, Undergraduate Student, Psychology Major 2024
The Role of Cholinergic Neurons in Fentanyl Consumption

Dr. Jennifer Quinn, Faculty Advisor
Brianna Minshall, Graduate Student Mentor
Catherine Wasylyshyn, Undergraduate Student, Psychology Major 2022
Effects of Acute Early Life Stress and Adult Fear Conditioning on CRH2 Receptor Expression in Adult Rats

Congratulations to Cambria, Sean, and Anna, and congratulations to Catherine, Brianna, and Jenn!

Natalee Price receives Graduate Student Achievement Award

Congratulations goes to graduate student Natalee Price for being recognized for the publication of her master’s thesis in Research on Child and Adolescent Psychopathology. Her study examines complex longitudinal pathways among maternal emotion dysregulation, emotion socialization, toddler emotion regulatory behaviors, and child anxiety outcomes. Congrats Natalee!

Price, N., & Kiel, E. (2021). Longitudinal links among mother and child emotion regulation, maternal emotion socialization, and child anxiety. Research on Child and Adolescent Psychopathologyhttps://doi.org/10.1007/s10802-021-00804-1

Lauren Jones receives Graduate Student Achievement Award

Congratulations goes to graduate student Lauren Jones, for being recognized for her recent publication in Journal of Affective Disorders. This paper provides the first systematic review of the literature on maternal anxiety and overprotective parenting. Congrats Lauren!

Jones, L. B., Hall, B.A., & Kiel, E. J. (2021). Systematic review of the link between maternal anxiety and overprotection. Journal of Affective Disorders, 295, 541-551. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jad.2021.08.065

Feven Ogbaselase receives Graduate Student Achievement Award

Congratulations goes to graduate student Feven Ogbaselase, who was awarded a Graduate Student Achievement Award recognizing her research examining the longitudinal effects of family emotional climate on teenagers’ depression via specific emotion regulation strategies. This recognition was given for the resulting publication of her first-author paper appearing in the APA journal Emotion. Congrats Feven!

Ogbaselase, F. A., Mancini, K. J., & Luebbe, A. M. (in press). Indirect effect of family climate on adolescent depression through emotion regulatory processes. Emotion. https://doi.org/10.1037/emo0000899

Aaron Luebbe receives top Miami graduate mentoring honor

Congratulations go to our own Aaron Luebbe, who was selected as a recipient of Miami’s 2020-21 Distinguished Teaching Award for Excellence in Graduate Instruction and Mentoring. Aaron joins a long and distinguished list of our psychology faculty who have been recognized with the highest honor for graduate mentoring at the university.

He will be presented with the award on Friday, November 4, at 2:30 p.m., at the Graduate Research Forum awards ceremony (held in the Armstrong Student Center Pavilion). Faculty are invited to walk over to Armstrong, meeting in the PSYC Atrium and walking over to Armstrong at 2:15.

For those who would prefer to celebrate virtually, the event will be available on zoom: https://miamioh.zoom.us/s/83390824669 (passcode: 044550)

Vaishali Raval receives US Dept. of Education grant

Congratulations goes to Vaishali Raval, who was recently awarded $100K from the United States Department of Education to support her project entitled, “Enhancing cultural competence and integrating international perspectives in the redesign of Global Miami Plan courses through explorations of diverse subcultures of India.” The project will run from July 2021 through July 2023, and it will provide global immersion experiences to 12 educators from Miami Univ. who teach global perspectives courses in the Global Miami Plan. Congrats Vaishali!

Three PSY majors named Dean’s Scholars

Congratulations go to PSY majors Maxwell Katsikas, Andrew Martinez, and Catherine Wasylyshyn for being named Dean’s Scholars for the 2021-22 academic year. Katsikas will be conducting research with advisor Dr. Terri Messman, Martinez will be conducting research with advisor Dr. Vaishali Raval, and Wasylyshyn will be conducting research with Dr. Jenn Quinn. Dean’s Scholars are competitive recognitions (only about 30 students in the entire College receive them each year) that provide highly-qualified students and their mentors with professional expenses to support their scholarly work. Congrats to our Dean’s Scholars and to their academic advisors!