Novella Prize

The Miami University Novella Prize is awarded annually to a novella-length manuscript of original fiction (18,000–40,000 words). The winner receives $1,000, a standard contract, publication and 20 copies of the book. We will begin accepting applications again in Summer 2024.



We announce the prize winner on this website as well as Facebook and @MiamiUPress. We also send emails with the news to all entrants. All entrants are eligible to receive a copy of the winning book. Request a thank-you novella.


Reading Fee: $25

18,000-40,000 words. Unfortunately, shorter or longer manuscripts will be disqualified without refund.

Format Requirements:
 Please be sure your name does not appear anywhere on the manuscript.

: All entries and fee payment must be submitted through Submittable.

Previously published works are not eligible. Simultaneous submissions are welcomed; please notify us immediately if your submission is accepted for publication elsewhere. Previous Novella Prize winners are ineligible. Previous finalists may enter again. Students, former students, faculty, former faculty, or anyone connected to Miami University are not eligible to enter. By submitting your work and the online form you certify that you are not in any way affiliated with Miami University. 

Miami University Press adheres to the Council of Literary Magazines & Presses (CLMP) Contest Code of Ethics: CLMP’s community of independent literary publishers believes that ethical contests serve our shared goal: to connect writers and readers by publishing exceptional writing. We believe that intent to act ethically, clarity of guidelines, and transparency of process form the foundation of an ethical contest. To that end, we agree to 1) conduct our contests as ethically as possible and to address any unethical behavior on the part of our readers, judges, or editors; 2) to provide clear and specific contest guidelines—defining conflict of interest for all parties involved; and 3) to make the mechanics of our selection process available to the public. This Code recognizes that different contest models produce different results, but that each model can be run ethically. We have adopted this Code to reinforce our integrity and dedication as a publishing community and to ensure that our contests contribute to a vibrant literary heritage.

Mitko cover
Fountain cover
Temper CA cover
Born Sleeping

Prize Winners + Finalists

2024 Visiting Composer by Andrea Avery
Final judge and editor: Kelcey Ervick

2023 – Fictions by Ashley Honeysett
Final judge and editor: Lee Upton

2022 – Sita in Exile by Rashi Rohatgi
Final judge: Misha Rai; Editor: Joseph Bates

2021 –  Conscious Designs by Nathanial White
Final judge and editor: Keith Banner

2020 – Born Sleeping by H.C. Gildfind
Final judge and editor: Joe Squance

2019 – History of an Executioner by Clancy McGilligan
Final judge and editor: Daisy Herñandez

2018 – Temper CA by Paul Skenazy
Final judge and editor: TaraShea Nesbit

2017 – Day of All Saints by Patricia Grace King
Final judge and editor: Brian Roley

2016 – That Night Alive by Tara Deal
Final judge and editor: Margaret Luongo

2015 – Camp Olvido by Lawrence Coates
Final judge and editor: Joseph Bates

Runners up: The Slush Pile by William Nixon & Desirée Women by Marlene Miller

2014 – Fountain by Tote Hughes
Final judge and editor: Joseph Bates

Runners up: The Sorrow Proper by Lindsey Drager & Newborn by Agustin Maes

2011 – Men Beware Women by Gwen Thompson
Final judge and editor: Margaret Luongo

Runners up The New Century by Monica Hileman, Continuity by David Crouse, No Creature Loves an Empty Space by Sudip Bose, Unspeakable by Erika Rummel, My Bo and Me by Roberta Anthes

2010 – Mitko by Garth Greenwell
Final judge and editor: David Schloss

2009 – The Old Whitaker Place by David Chambers
& Under the Small Lights by John Cotter

Final judge and editor: David Schloss

The 2009 contest resulted in a tie—so we broke with tradition and awarded two authors the prize.

2008 – The Guide to the Flying Island by Lee Upton
Final judge and editor: Joseph Bates

2007 winner A Fight in the Doctor’s Office by Cary Holladay
Final judge and editor: Brian Roley

2006 – Badlands by Cynthia Reeves
Final judge and editor: Margaret Luongo

Runner up The House of My Father by John Michael Cummings

2005 – The Waiting Room by Albert Sgambati
Final judge and editor: Eric Goodman

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top