Miami University Press publishes two to three books a year: poetry and poetry in translation, novellas and short fiction, and books about Miami University history and conferences.

We regret that, due to limited staff, we are unable to read or respond to unsolicited manuscripts or queries.


Beginning in 1992, Miami University Press brought out two books of poems each year by poets who had already had at least one full-length collection of poetry published. This first series, edited by James Reiss, featured poets including Ralph Angel, whose Neither World won the 1995 James Laughlin Award of The Academy of American Poets. Hugh Seidman’s Selected Poems: 1965-1995 won a 1995 Critics’ Choice Award and was chosen as one of the Village Voice’s “25 Favorite Books of 1995.

Since 2004, when Keith Tuma assumed its editorship, the press has published one book of poetry each year, often featuring poetry by British and Irish poets and poetry in translation, though it also continues to publish American poets. In 2013, Peter Manson’s Stéphane Mallarmé: The Poems in Verse was a finalist for the Corneliu M Popescu Prize given biennially by the Poetry Society of London to a book of poetry translated into English from another European language.

In 2004 the press introduced a fiction series, beginning with Marianne Villanueva’s collection of short stories, Mayor of the Roses, and continuing since 2006 with novellas published as the winner of an annual novella contest. Winners of the contest are selected by creative writing faculty at Miami and have included Albert Sgambati, The Waiting Room, 2005; Cynthia Reeves, Badlands, 2006; Cary Holladay, A Fight in the Doctor’s Office, 2007; Lee Upton, The Guide to the Flying Island, 2008; John Cotter, Under the Small Lights, and David Chambers, The Old Whitaker Place, co-winners in 2009; Garth Greenwell, Mitko, 2010; Gwen Thompson, Men Beware Women, 2011; Tote Hughes, Fountain, 2014; Lawrence Coates, Camp Olvido, 2015 and Tara Deal, That Night Alive, in 2016. The Publishing Triangle named Mitko as a finalist for its Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction; Greenwell’s novella was also nominated for a Lambda Literary Award in the Gay Debut Fiction category. Please check the novella page for news about the contest.

In 2005 the press published the first of its books about conferences held at Miami, Rainbow Darkness: An Anthology of African American Poetry, which grew out of poems and talks presented at Marjorie Cook Conference on Diversity in African American Poetry in September 2003. In 2009, the press published Performing Worlds into Being: Native American Women’s Theater, based on a 2007 conference on Native North American theater. In 2013, the press published Finding Freedom: Memorializing the Voices of Freedom Summer about the Freedom Summer Memorial on the campus of Western College at Miami University, a memorial dedicated in 2000 to commemorate Western’s role in Freedom Summer. Miami University Press has also published Phillip R. Shriver’s Miami University: A Personal History, which is available by calling (513) 529-2602.


Editor, Keith Tuma
Managing Editor, Amy Toland
Editorial Intern, Elizabeth Brueggemann
Marketing Intern, Jada Favers
Design, Crisis


Miami University Press
301 S. Patterson Ave.
356 Bachelor Hall
Oxford, OH 45056

Supported by
Department of English
Creative Writing Program
College of Arts and Sciences

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top